Dimensions | Listen | Watch | Corporate | Support

For Educators by Educators

2009 Writers Contest Winners

PBS Kids GO! Writers Contest

Open to students in kindergarten through fifth grade, stories were judged on originality, creative expression, storytelling and integration of illustrations. One first place and one honorable mention winner were chosen from each grade level.

Watch the 2009 WHRO Young Storytellers Awards Show
Angie Callahan interviews the 2009 winners about their stories:

Media not computed.

Here are the WHRO Young Storytellers for 2009!


First Place
Valerie Morris
"The Magic Pegasus"
Botetourt Elementary, Gloucester

Honorable Mention
Nelson Laine, Jr.
"The Presidential Race"
Tidewater Academy, Wakefield


First Place
Allison Calvert
"The Adventure of Mr. Frog"
S.P. Morton Elementary, Franklin

Honorable Mention
Abbie Thornton
"The Lost Squirrel"
Achilles Elementary, Gloucester


First Place
Veronika Hamilton
"The Dragon Who Did Not Know How To Breathe Fire"
W. H. Taylor Elementary, Norfolk

Honorable Mention
Asa Britton-Jenkins
"May's Kite"
W. H. Taylor Elementary, Norfolk


First Place
Kamryn Cooper
"Sunny The Snowman"
Botetourt Elementary, Gloucester

Honorable Mention
A. Wm Leighton Holm
"The Adventures of Ted, Jeff & Tone"
Larchmont Elementary, Norfolk


First Place
Ellissa Johnson
"Welcome To Dream Land"
Home Schooled, Williamsburg

Honorable Mention
Ikeeba Johnson
"My Summer Vacation"
Pungoteague Elementary, Accomack


First Place
Madeline Sisson
"The Upside Down Book"
Kings Grant Elementary, Virginia Beach

Honorable Mention
Thaddaeus Springer
"A New Beginning"
Home Schooled, Virginia Beach


First Place
Malachi Hinton
"Paws For A Cause Day At The Park"
B.C. Charles Elementary, Newport News

Honorable Mention
Erin Campbell
"Into The Cavern"
Greenbrier Intermediate, Chesapeake

PBS Kids Go Writers ContestThe PBS KIDS GO! Writers Contest is part of PBS KIDS Raising Readers and is funded in part by a Ready To Learn grant, in a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Department of Education and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

The contents of these contest rules were developed under a grant, #PRU295B050003, from the Department of Education.  However, those contents do not necessarily represent the policy of the Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.